Her Lolita, my Lolita

When “Black Swan” premiered in New York, Natalie Portman showed up wearing a long black Dior gown, immaculate Dior makeup and a purse that looked just like a midcentury edition of “Lolita” by Vladimir Nabokov.

That purse was by French designer Olympia Le-Tan, who creates clutches that look like mid-20th century book covers. They’ve been spotted in the hands of European starlets, as well as Portman’s.

Book-purse recommendations for the Golden Globes by Carolyn Kellog in the Jacket copy

I got my ‘Lolita’ from a second-hand bookshop in 2009 and I’ve been reading it forever. I was on page 100 when other novels got my attention.

Last Saturday, I found ‘Reading Lolita in Tehran – A Memoir in Books‘ by Azar Nafisi on Booksale and bought it together with other books. ‘Curious George Neighborhood’ is for Uno and Jed.

This is just to remind myself that ‘Lolita’ is the next pick after ‘Crime and Punishment’ and ‘Mansfield Park.

Leave a Reply

