Remembering Tita Cory

President Cory @ PNC (now PNU) 79th Commencement Exercise

In March 1987, I attended the Phil. Normal College (now University) 79th Commencement Exercises. I was only a sophomore but I knew I have to be there. President Cory Aquino was the commencement speaker. I was lucky enough to get a gate pass and listened to her as she inspired the newly graduates to make a difference in the world of teaching. The above photo was taken by a PNU photographer.

Yellow ribbons, a campaign poster and Ninoy’s famous black and white image. These are in my one and only scrapbook. I can’t remember the last time I opened it.

Yellow Ribbons

Campaign

I still have the Time magazine Woman of the Year issue plus Asiaweek’s March 1986 collector’s issue given to me by father. As I turn the pages, I remember asking  him in 1986 who his candidate for the snap election was. He said KBL for ‘Kay Biyuda Lahat’. And from my Social Science professor I learned that snap stands for “Sigurado Na Ang Panalo.”

Cory in Asiaweek

Woman of the Year

As I write this, the stretch of people who are lining up to view the remains of President Cory are still very long. Just like Ninoy in 1983.

PDInq

Note:

August 3, 2009

This morning, more than a thousand students together with faculty members led by the PNU President Atty. Lutgardo Barbo marched to the Manila Cathedral to pay their last respects to Pres. Cory. In a radio interview, he mentioned that it was Pres. Cory who signed Republic Act 7168 on December 26, 1991, elevating the school to university status.

Leave a Reply

