A Comment

I have read Paulo Coelho’s “The Alchemist” in 2003 before I began my stint in graduate school, for the 3rd time. I thought I’ve finally found my treasure. I was wrong. For it was the ‘continuation’ of my journey.

I’ve started my (graduate) school hopping in 1993 in a well established university. It was a dream come true for me to be accepted there. But something happened and I dropped the course.

In 1996, I went to a technical school. All I needed were 4 units to get an associate degree but for some strange reason, I again lost interest.

In 2001, I entered in another graduate school thinking that I was equipped to be in a highly technical field of studies. I lasted for a semester and sadly quit.

In 2003, I went back to my college alma mater and enrolled in another graduate course. Inspired by Santiago, I knew nothing will stop me for finding my treasures. I was wrong. I finished just two semesters and a summer. For in 2004, I was in for an adventure of a lifetime.

My journey led me to treasures of different kind. The treasures are called Uno and Jed. Plus the journey itself, the discoveries I’ve made and the wisdom that I’ve acquired.

Now its 2008 and I’m back in gradschool, the one I’ve left in 2004. To continue my search for the other treasure.

There are times I’m not as courageous as Santiago. Most of the time I feel that the needs of my love ones are more important than my dreams.

Sometimes I want to give up the search, the journey. But I know that if I do, its like giving up my dream, avoiding my personal legend, ignoring my destiny.

So I’m moving on. Marching to the beat of my gradschool dream.

I have other dreams too. And to realize them is like moving a mountain from one place to another. I can always look back at Santiago for inspiration. Or wish for an alchemist to help me make it when I’m down or about to give up.

====================================================================

Originally written as a comment for this post on June 5, 2008.

5 Comments

  1. i really wanted to do some additional studies as well pero ang hirap pagsabayin talaga pag may fulltime job na…hup this time makompleto mo na

    ======================================================================

    Mahirap talaga, kabayan. Sabi nga sa kanta eh, ‘tibay at lakas ng loob’ ang kailangan. If you are really interested, may mga on-line or modularized graduate courses na pwede mong i-try like yung sa UP Open University.

    Salamat sa pagbisita🙂

  2. And like what the book said… if you want something bad enough, the universe will conspire to help you achieve it. I had my journey to my personal legend and I’m lucky enough to have achieved it (thanks to the universe who has helped me). You will have yours and i’m sure you will achieve it.

    Stay focus and determined. Believe that you can do it.

    hehe… The alchemist is just around the corner. He is the one who will help you achieve your dream and not be distracted again.
    😉

    ===================================================================

    Your words are really inspiring, Em. I hope the universe is with me as I reach for my dreams🙂

  3. Pingback: Paulo Coelho’s Blog « Shift+F7

  4. Pingback: Gradschool Brunch « Shift+F7

Leave a Reply

