Today

From Meditations For Women Who Do Too Much by Anne Wilson Schaef

Normal day, let me be aware of the treasure you are. Let me learn from you, love you, bless you before you depart. Let me not pass you by in quest of some rare and perfect tomorrow. Let me hold you while I may, for it may not always be so. One day I shall dig my nails into the earth, or bury my face in the pillow, or stretch myself taut, or raise my hands to the sky and want, more than all the world, your return. ~~ Mary Jean Iron

This moment is right now. It is what we have. How often we have squandered the treasure of today and dreamed of the fortunes of the future, only to mourn for the loss of this day. Today, we can see the excitement in the eyes of a child over some new discovery. Today, we can listen to an old friend before we can get on to the next task. Have we missed today by not being present to it? Will we later seep tears of mourning and wish for its return? How much better to live it today.

Just a normal day-what a gift!

2 Comments

  1. How true, your words has struck me
    so many todays have passed me by
    oblivious of the moments to see
    running blind and clueless to the next day
    chasing dreams faster than we

    how can i stop? and relish today?
    i am too afraid that if i stay still
    the ground wll take me in
    and my dreams has gone out of sight
    forever…

  2. There is always time to enjoy the moment and the choice is in our hands. For me, to stop means to recharge, to see my compass that leads me to my destination.

    Dreamers know how to enjoy the fruits of their labor and that’s the time they stay still, but not for long. Dreamers never let the ground take them in because they are ahead every step of the way. Dreamers never let their dreams go out of sight.

Leave a Reply

