V-Movies

movie2.jpg

Always and Breakfast at Tiffany’s are not your ideal Valentine movies. What they have in common is Audrey Hepburn. Always was Hepburn’s last movie while Breakfast at Tiffany’s was her most memorable and identifiable role. The first time I’ve watched Always was in a cinema with my sister. My favorite scene was when Pete [Richard Dreyfuss] and Dorinda [Holly Hunter] were dancing to the melody of their favorite song, Smoke Gets in Your Eyes. Without getting into details, this movie is about love, death, regrets, falling in love again and letting go.  

I saw Breakfast at Tiffany’s several times on TV when I was a kid and it was always the song Moon River that made me pay attention because of its easy to sing rhythm and riddle-like lyrics [How do you cross a river in style? Who is the dream maker? Who is the heart breaker?] This movie is about two dysfunctional individuals, Holly Golightly [Audrey Hepburn] and Paul Varjak [George Peppard], who found love while running away from themselves.

Perfect Valentine’s movies for my imperfect Valentine’s Day…

When your heart’s on fire, you must realize smoke gets in your eyes…

2 Comments

  1. Hi JTE,

    I’ve heard about those movies but I don’t think I remember the story at all.

    When it comes to classic love stories.. the first thing that would come to my mind is “Sleepless in Seattle”.

    Classic tagalog love story… “Kastilyong Buhangin”…hehe

    Classic tagalog sci-fi (or horror?) story…. “Panday 1, 2, 3…”….hehe

    Am I the creepiest??? remembering Nora Aunor and Fernando Poe??? Well…. they say that in childrens mind lies the momories that are deep and irreversible. Yes, you probably know now who my Mom and my Dads favorite actor and actress. I rest my case.

  2. Hi Ems! Sleepless in Seattle is a magic movie… “What if someone you never met, someone you never saw, someone you never knew was the only someone for you?… it’s about the kind of love you find in a perfect world, the kind of love everybody wants and needs (though few will admit it, even to themselves) but rarely finds…” I’ve seen the movie several times and its touching in a very funny way..

Leave a Reply

